News Briefs TV, movie and music news

Tag: Awards, Festivals & Events (1-10 of 57)

NAACP Image Awards nominees announced

The nominations for the 43rd annual NAACP Image Awards were announced today. Leading the pack with eight nods, The Help is up for Best Picture, writing, and directing, as well as dominating the Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress. TV faves Grey’s Anatomy and The Game tied for second place with six noms apiece. In music, Beyoncé and Jill Scott were the most honored, scoring two nods each. Other high-profile noms included two for Maya Rudolph (Bridesmaids, Up All Night), acknowledgements for Eddie Murphy and Tower Heist, and even a little love for Adele.

The Image Awards will be presented Feb. 17 on NBC. Select nominations are below. The full lists are available the Awards’ official site. READ FULL STORY

'Harry Potter,' Katy Perry top People's Choice winners list

Katy Perry is in the popular clique now.

The singer-actress won the most People’s Choice Awards at Wednesday’s 38th annual fan-favorite extravaganza, but viewers wouldn’t have known it from watching the ceremony. An absentee Perry was honored in five categories, including favorite female artist, tour headliner, song of the year for “E.T.” with Kanye West, music video for “Last Friday Night,” and TV guest star for How I Met Your Mother. READ FULL STORY

Cannes condemns Lars von Trier for Nazi remarks

Danish director Lars von Trier, whose film Melancholia wowed critics at the Cannes Film Festival but whose recent comments about Adolf Hitler drew headlines, was declared “persona non grata” in an unprecedented move by the Festival. In a statement, the Festival’s Board of Directors, said it “profoundly regrets that this forum has been used by Lars von Trier to express comments that are unacceptable, intolerable, and contrary to the ideals of humanity and generosity that preside over the very existence of the Festival.”

A Cannes spokesperson told the Associated Press that Melancholia will remain in competition, but its director would not be present to accept any prizes should it win.

On Wednesday, von Trier told reporters that he understood and sympathized a bit with Hitler before issuing an apology.

Justin Bieber, Zach Galifianakis, Steve Carell among Webby Award winners

As the road to one awards show begins, another one ends. Today, the winners of the 15th Annual Webby Awards were revealed. The list includes celebrities like Justin Bieber (People’s Voice Award for Best Comedy Video), Zach Galifianakis (Webbys for Best Web Personality/Host and Best Comedy Individual Short or Episode; Webby and People’s Voice for Best Online Variety Show), Steve Carell (Webby for Best Comedy Individual Short or Episode), and the all-star comedy team of Will Ferrell, Jim Carrey, Dana Carvey, Fred Armisen, Maya Rudolph, and Darrell Hammond for “Funny or Die’s Presidential Reunion.” The Old Spice Guy campaign also won big.

The awards will be presented on Monday, June 13 at a ceremony in New York’s Hammerstein Ballroom. For an exhaustive list of winners, check out the Webby’s own website.

Conan O'Brien, Jimmy Fallon, Old Spice campaign, Angry Birds among Webby Award nominees

This weekend, CollegeHumor’s Jake and Amir announced the nominees for the 15th annual Webby Awards. The long list of contenders includes Conan O’Brien’s Team Coco site (for Celebrity/Fan Site), Late Night with Jimmy Fallon (for Humor Site), Old Spice’s Response Campaign (for Best Use of Online Media, Best Use of Social Media, and Viral Marketing), and Angry Birds (for Comedy Long Form or Series).

Each category will have two winners — one chosen by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, and one “People’s Voice” winner picked by an online vote. Winners will be announced on May 3. For a full list of nominees, and to vote for your favorites through April 28, visit the Webby Awards’ homepage.

Bill Murray, Eddie Murphy, and David Letterman highlight Comedy Awards

Eddie Murphy accepted a Career Icon Award, Bill Murray presented the Johnny Carson Award for Comedic Excellence to David Letterman, and Letterman himself punctuated an evening of precision profanity with an f-bomb of his own at the first annual Comedy Awards last night in New York.

The Other Guys was awarded the first-ever golden microphone, winning for Best Comedy Film. READ FULL STORY

Daniel Radcliffe to be given the Trevor Project's Hero Award

Harry Potter star Daniel Radcliffe, who has been an advocate for suicide prevention group The Trevor Project since 2009, will be honored with that organization’s Hero Award. The Associated Press writes that Radcliffe is due to receive the award in June; past recipients include Vanessa Williams, Nathan Lane, and Milk screenwriter Dustin Lance Black. “The people that are doing the heroic things are the people answering phones 24 hours a day in the Trevor call centers,” Radcliffe told the AP. “Out of everything that I’ve done so far in my career, I think this is absolutely one of the most important, if not the most important, thing that I’m associated with.”

Read more:
Daniel Radcliffe shoots commercial for gay suicide-prevention organization
Neil Patrick Harris, Ellen DeGeneres, Dan Savage speak out about gay-youth suicide

Meryl Streep and James Taylor among recipients of National Medal of Arts

Meryl Streep, James Taylor, Quincy Jones and six other American artists will be honored today at the White House when President Obama presents the National Medal of Arts, the nation’s highest honor for artistic excellence. “The National Medal of Arts recipients represent the many vibrant and diverse art forms thriving in America,” said NEA Chairman Rocco Landesman, in a statement. “From criticism to literature, music, poetry, sculpture, and theater, these honorees’ devotion to shaping and sharing American art is unrivaled, and I join the President and the country in saluting them.” The entire list of honorees is after the jump: READ FULL STORY

Tyler Perry dominates NAACP Image Awards nominations

Tyler Perry, who directed For Colored Girls and Why Did I Get Married Too? and produces TBS’ Tyler Perry’s House of Payne, garnered a whopping 19 NAACP Image Award nominations today. The movies, along with Just Wright, The Book of Eli and The Kids Are All Right, will be competing in the Outstanding Motion Picture category. House of Payne will compete against Modern Family, Glee, Are We There Yet? and 30 Rock for Outstanding Comedy Series. The nominees for Outstanding Drama Series are Detroit 1-8-7, Grey’s Anatomy, HawthoRNe, Law & Order: SVU, and Treme. Other nominees include Glee‘s Amber Riley (for Supporting Actress in a Comedy sSeries), Grey’s Anatomy‘s Chandra Wilson (for Actress in a Drama Series), and Jaden Smith for his lead performance in The Karate Kid. A full list of nominees is available here.

Stanley Tucci, Patricia Clarkson to host Gotham Awards

Beloved Easy A co-stars — and Under-Appreciated Entertainer of the Year nominees — Stanley Tucci and Patricia Clarkson will host this year’s Gotham Independent Film Awards, Variety reports. Presenters at the awards include Anne Hathaway, Julianne Moore, Jesse Eisenberg, Anthony Mackie, Michelle Williams, and more. The ceremony will take place Nov. 29.

Latest Videos


From Our Partners

TV Recaps

Powered by VIP