Adam Lambert reportedly co-wrote leaked pre-'Idol' tracks

An upcoming album of songs recorded by Adam Lambert before he rose to fame on season 8 of American Idol will contain eight tracks co-written by the singer, contrary to a statement released last week by Lambert's rep, according to a report in Us magazine. Last week, the singer said in a statement that in 2005 he was "hired as a studio singer to lend my vocals totracks written by someone else." A follow-up call today to 19 Recordings wasnot immediately returned.

Hi Fi Recordings, which will release On With the Show in conjunction with Willshire Records later this summer, told Us that "As co-writer and performer, Adam will receive significant royaltiesjust as any superstar artist would. He has the chance, finally, to makea fortune for his work — definitely more with this album than througha major label deal.", meanwhile,obtained a document it claims shows Lambert co-wrote tracks from his Willshire Records sessions with Monte Pittman, a guitarist for Madonna, and others.

Related: Adam Lambert's new (old) single 'Want': Awesome new tune or lame cash-in?


Comments (56 total) Add your comment
Page: 1 2 3 4
  • djm

    And you know to believe EVERYTHING that US magazine or TMZ reports. Whatever. I’ll believe whatever it is that Adam says about it when he says something about it. Until then who cares?

  • Adam
  • Kia

    I don’t believe these music execs for one second. I think they’re lying and trying to cash in on Adam’s new found fame. I will be waiting for Adam’s REAL album this fall from RCA.

  • Krista

    Stop spreading lies! Hi-Fi are losers. Why didn’t they release the songs before? Why wait until now?
    Go Adam, you rock!

  • mick

    Who care if he did co-write some of the tracks. He didn’t write the one that was released as the first single. Had this company been at all smart they would have released Crawl Thru fire which Adam did co-write. That song is fantastic. I’d buy it. Can’t wait though for Adams REAL first album.

  • momma bear

    Adam’s statement only referred to the single “Want”…he and his management had no idea what HiFi intended to include on this album (assuming the TMZ memo is real)…

  • Nicole

    Doesn’t anyone find it strange that Monte Pittman, Madonna’s guitarist isn’t saying anything?? Hi Fi is hanging out there by themselves to dry.
    Besides, Adam’s response was to Want and On With the Show, which were not written by him…. They threw those other songs in there becasue of the backlash, and the fact Want is doing poorly on Itunes. The memo is dated for the 23rd….. Please… I’m glad Adam is staying mum so there isn’t more free press for Hi Fi.

  • Denise

    The only believable person in this crap is Adam. !! Stop this !! This doesn’t take away from our fantastic Adam !! Leave him be and show him some respect like he gives everybody else. Lots of love to you ADAM !!

  • Mel

    For God’s sake. All Adam said was he was “hired to lend vocals to tracks written by someone else.” He was hired to do that. He NEVER said he didnt write any of the songs. and how was he supposed to know what tracks are gonna be on the album? Also why in the hell, are these leeches trying to sell us songs that have leaked months ago and are all over youtube like Crawl Thru Fire and Pop Goes the Camera? Adam has told his fans in interviews about the many songs he wrote with Monte Pittman. A few of those songs like “Turning On” and “The Circle” were written and performed with his old band Citizen Vein. The videos are on youtube. Something smells incredibly fishy here and it has to do with how this record company is trying to spin all of this against Adam in order to persuade people to buy the songs so that they can leech off of his success. what a sad situation!

  • AJS

    About 5-7 of those songs (it seems the names were changed for some songs) have been up on Adam’s myspace page and youtube. If someone puts music they co-wrote up on their myspace page, it’s pretty clear they aren’t trying to disown it. However, Adam had nothing to do with Want or the title song On With the Show. Those are clearly demos he did as a session singer. Want sounds nothing like him stylistically and the quality screams demo. Also, it was given to another artist Dublyn Jones and called December. It’s stupid to say that Adam was “lying”. He’s only made one statement right after Want came out and since the company bragged about how they didn’t let anyone know what they were doing, it’s safe to assume Adam had no idea want other songs besides the demos he did in sessions were going to be on the “album”.

  • debbie

    If they thought Adam was so brilliant before, why didn’t they release these songs when he was working for them. Moneygrubbers trying to cash in now. Adam rocks, period.

  • Megan

    Yeah, we’ve discussed this elsewhere, about how you can get “co-writer” credit for literally changing a few notes or words. It’s very hard to tell how much he wrote, and Hi Fi is definitely throwing on the hyperbole to make sure Adam is as connected to this as possible (everything except, oh, say giving Adam any say in the distribution and packaging of this album…ugh.)
    The only thing that matters is that this is older stuff of his, not done for a specific album, to be packaged together as such, and that Hi Fi is just doing all this themselves without any creative input from him at this point in his career. And selling it as his “new” stuff is really unfair, considering that it is several years old. His current style is not the same. Hi Fi just wants to capitalize on his success.

  • debbie

    So if they thought Adam was so brilliant, why didn’t they release any of these songs when he actually was working with them. Moneygrubbing creeps. Adam rocks period.

  • artistry

    I don’t care who’s lying or who makes money here. All I care is about Adam’s voice. I will buy this Hi-Fi album and the RCA album. No one can tell me what to buy or not to buy. This was partly Adam fans fault. Because of their narrow-mindedness, now the story is getting to be ugly. They should have just allowed it to release. They have challenged Hi-Fi and they responded with facts. RCA and 19R isn’t stopping the release so what’s the bug fuzz. I have a feeling that Adam is not speaking because he knew this will be a big mess especially now that he is under contract with 19R and RCA. No harm done on Adam. He will still soar after this album.

  • bd

    Wow, way to check your sources. Adam’s comment came last week and referred to “Want” and “On with the Show”.
    A memo is “leaked” with a tracklist dated the 23rd? Um, AFTER ADAM’S STATEMENT?
    Adam’s statement clearly relates to just the two songs he knew about – how was HE supposed to know about what songs were on the CD if HiFi didn’t know until the 23rd?
    I’ll echo other posters – why would you trust anything on US Weekly or TMZ without having *real* facts?

Page: 1 2 3 4
Add your comment
The rules: Keep it clean, and stay on the subject - or we may delete your comment. If you see inappropriate language, e-mail us. An asterisk (*) indicates a required field.

When you click on the "Post Comment" button above to submit your comments, you are indicating your acceptance of and are agreeing to the Terms of Service. You can also read our Privacy Policy.

Latest Videos


From Our Partners

TV Recaps

Powered by VIP